Contact Information

Address: The Valley
Phone: (+1 264) 497-5081 / 497-3748
Fax: (+1 264) 498-2210


Legislature of Anguilla (House of Assembly)

Anguilla, the most northerly of the Leeward Islands in the Lesser Antilles is an internally self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Its political system is in the framework of a parliamentary representative democratic dependency, whereby the Chief Minister is the Head of Government and of a multi-party system.

Anguilla has a unicameral legislature comprising eleven seats serving a five year term. There are two main opposition parties, Anguilla National Strategic Alliance led by the Opposition Leader Edison Baird and the Anguilla United Movement led by Former Chief Minister Hubert Hughes. The Anguilla United Front Party is in Government with a four-seat majority following the General Elections which was held on 21 January, 2005.  

Seat of the Legislature: The Valley
Population: 11, 407 (July, 2000)
Constitution: British Overseas Territory 
CPA Branch Formed: 1992
Voting Age: 18 years
Date of First Parliament: April 1, 1976

Political Party Distribution

Anguilla United Front Party: 8 Seats
Anguilla Strategic Alliance: 2 Seats
Anguilla United Movement: 1 Seat
Date of Last Election:

Officers of the Branch

Hon. Barbara Joan Webster- Bourne
CPA Office: Branch President
Parliamentary Office: Speaker of the House of Assembly

Ms. Adella Richardson
CPA Office: Branch Secretary
Parliamentary Office: Clerk to the House of Assembly