Antigua & Barbuda

Contact Information

Address: Department of Legislature, Queen Elizabeth Highway, St. John’s
Phone: (+1 268) 462-4822
Fax:  (+1 268) 462-6724


The Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda is bicameral consisting of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate is the Upper House with seventeen members appointed by the Governor-General, ten on the advice of the Prime Minister, four on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition, one on the advice of the Barbuda Council, one resident of Barbuda on the advice of the Prime Minister and one at the Governor-General’s discretion.

The House of Representatives has a total of 19 members, seventeen members directly elected in single member constituencies using the simple-majority (or First-past-the-post) system, one ex-officio member (the Attorney-General) and the other seat is held by the Speaker.

Seat of Parliament: St. John’s
Date of Independence: November 1, 1981
Population: 67,448 (July 2002)
Constitution: Constitutional Monarchy
CPA Branch formed: 1953
Voting age: 18 years

Political Party Distribution

United Progressive Party (UPP): 12 Seats
Antigua Labour Party (ALP): 4 Seats
Barbuda People’s Movement (BPM): 1 Seat
Date of Last Election

Officers of the Branch

Hon. D. Giselle Isaac-Arrindell, MP
CPA Office: Regional Representative
Parliamentary Office: Speaker of the House of Representatives

Sen. the Hon. Hazelyn Mason-Francis, MBE
CPA Office: President
Parliamentary Office: President of the Senate

Ms. Ramona Small
CPA Office: Branch Secretary
Parliamentary Office: Clerk of Parliament