The Parliament of Jamaica is the legislative branch of the government of Jamaica. It consists of three elements: the Crown, the appointed Senate and the directly elected House of Representatives. The Parliament meets at Gordon House at 81 Duke Street, Kingston. It was built in 1960 and named in memory of Jamaican patriot George William Gordon.
GH Exterior2022

Contact Information

Address: Gordon House, 81 Duke Street, P.O. Box 636, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone: (876) 922-0200-7
Fax: (876) 967-0064/967-1708


On January 20, 1664, Jamaica’s first House of Assembly met at St. Jago de la Vega known today as Spanish Town. The Spanish Chapel of the Red Cross was used to hold meetings of the Assembly.

Jamaica became an independent member of the Commonwealth in 1962. The Parliament is a constitutional monarchy; the Queen of England is represented by the Governor-General as Head of State. The parliamentary system is bicameral comprising the House of Representatives which is made up of members appointed through Universal Adult Suffrage, and the Senate which consists of members elected by the Governor-General.

Gordon House is a two storey contemporary building with an ‘L’ shaped design around an open courtyard which is used to provide concealed parking.  The building was named in honour of National Hero, the Rt. Excellent George William Gordon who supported freedom and justice for all classes in the society.

Gordon House which is located on Duke Street became the official meeting place of the Jamaican Government on Wednesday, October 26, 1960.  The former meeting place of the government since 1872 was Headquarters House also on Duke Street.  The two buildings are separated by Beeston Street, which runs west to east across Duke Street.

Branch Profile

Seat of Parliament: Kingston
Population: 2,813,285 (2017)
Constitution: Constitutional Monarchy
CPA Branch Formed: 1933

Political Party Distribution

Jamaica Labour Party (JLP):     48
People’s National Party (PNP):  14
Independent: 1
Date of Last Election: September 3, 2020

Officers of the Branch

Senator the Hon. Thomas Tavares-Finson, OJ, CD, QC, JP
CPA Office: Branch Joint President
Parliamentary Office: President of the Senate

Hon. Marisa Dalrymple-Philibert, CD, MP
CPA Office: Branch Joint President
Parliamentary Office: Speaker of the House of Representatives

The Most Hon. Andrew Holness, ON, PC, MP
CPA Office: Branch Vice-President
Parliamentary Office: Prime Minister

Ms. Valrie A. Curtis, CD, BH(M), JP
CPA Office: Branch Secretary
Parliamentary Office: Clerk to the Houses of Parliament