St. Lucia

The Parliament of St. Lucia is bicameral parliament consisting of an appointed Senate (Upper House) and an elected House of Assembly (Lower House). The Senate has 11 members, while the House of Assembly has 19 members including the Speaker.

Contact Information

Address: Old Government Building, Laborie Street, Castries
Phone: (+1 758) 724-6468
Fax: (+1 758) 452-5451


St. Lucia was a British Crown Colony in 1814 and by 1838 was incorporated into the British Windward Islands administration.

In 1924 the constitution gave the island its first form of Representative Government, with a small number of elected members in what was once an all nominated legislative council. Universal adult suffrage was introduced in 1951 making elected members the majority of the council.

Ministerial government was effective in 1956, and in 1958 St. Lucia became a part of the West Indies Federation. Between 1967 and 1979 St. Lucia was a part of the Associate Statehood taking full responsibility for its internal government, with the UK overseeing the island’s external affairs and defense.

Associate Statehood ended in 1979 when St. Lucia achieved full Independence.

St. Lucia is a Constitutional Monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as the head of state. The parliament is made up of the Queen, a Senate and a House of Assembly. The Prime Minister is the Head of Government while the Governor General is the Head of State. The House of Assembly consists of the number of members that correspond to the number of constituencies at the time being established.

The Parliament of St. Lucia is bicameral, having two chambers. The Senate (Upper House) has 11 members. The House of Assembly (Lower House) has 18 directly elected Members and one Speaker.

Lower House

Government Members
  • Hon. Lenard Montoute
    Minister for Equity, Social Justice and Empowerment, Youth Development, Sports, Culture and Local Government
  • Hon. Ezechiel Joseph
    Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries, Physical Planning, Natural Resources and Cooperatives
  • Hon. Stephenson King
    Minister for Infrastructure, Ports, Energy and Labour
  • Hon. Sarah Flood Beaubrun
    Minister with Responsibility for External Affairs
  • Hon. Dominic Francis Fedee
    Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister with Responsibility for Tourism, Information and Broadcasting
  • Hon. Herold A. Stanislas
    Minister for Physical Planning in the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, Physical Planning, Natural Resources and Cooperatives
  • Hon. John Bradley Felix
    Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister with Responsibility for Commerce, Industry, Investment, Enterprise Development and Consumer Affairs
  • Hon. Dr. Gale T C Rigobert
    Minister for Education, Innovation, Gender Relations and Sustainable Development
  • Hon. Edmund Estephane
    Minister for Youth Development and Sports
  • Hon. Guy Eardley Joseph
    Minister for Economic Development, Housing, Urban Renewal, Transport and Civil Aviation
Opposition Members
  • Hon. Phillip J. Pierre
    Leader of the Opposition
  • Hon. Dr. Kenny D. Anthony
  • Hon. Alva R. Baptiste
  • Hon. Ernest Hilaire
  • Hon. Shawn Andrey Edward
  • Hon. Moses Jn Baptiste