St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Contact Information

Address: Houses of Parliament, Ministerial Complex, Botanical Gardens, St. George’s
Phone: (+1 473) 440-2090 / 440-3456
Fax: (+1 473) 440-4138


From 1763 until independence, St. Vincent passed through various stages of colonial status under the British. A representative assembly was authorized in 1776, Crown Colony government installed in 1877, a legislative council created in 1925, and universal adult suffrage granted in 1951.

During this period, the British made several unsuccessful attempts to affiliate St. Vincent with other Windward Islands in order to govern the region through a unified administration. The most notable was the West Indies Federation, which collapsed in 1962. St. Vincent was granted associate statehood status in 1969, giving it complete control over its internal affairs. Following a referendum in 1979, St. Vincent and the Grenadines became the last of the Windward Islands to gain independence. Natural disasters have plagued the country throughout the 20th century.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines is a parliamentary Democracy patterned after the Westminster model.

On October 27, 1979 the country gained independence from Britain and as with most Commonwealth countries, the Head of State is Queen Elizabeth II represented by the Governor General.

The House of Assembly is a unicameral parliament made up of 15 elected members, one public officer and six senators appointed by the Governor-General. The Prime Minister is the leader of the majority party of the house and the cabinet conducts affairs of the state.

There is no local government in St. Vincent and all six parishes are administered by the central government.

Branch Profile

Seat of Parliament: Kingstown
Date of First Parliament: January 1, 1767
Population: 111,821 (2000)
Constitution: Constitutional Monarchy
CPA Branch Formed: 1946

Political Party Distribution

Date of Last Election: November 7, 2005
Unity Labour Party: 12 seats
New Democratic Party: 3 seats

Officers of the Branch

Hon. Carlos James Esq
CPA Office: Branch President
Parliamentary Office: Speaker of the House of Assembly

Dr the Hon. Ralph Gonsalves MP
CPA Office: Branch Vice-President
Parliamentary Office: Prime Minister

Hon. Arnhim Eustace MP
CPA Office: Branch Vice-President
Parliamentary Office: Leader of the Opposition

Ms Nicole Herbert
CPA Office: Branch Secretary
Parliamentary Office: Clerk of the House of Assembly