Trending from the Regional CPA

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association hosts its second virtual post-election seminar in the Caribbean Region for newly elected Members of the House of Assembly...


CPA Secretary-General sends video message to all CPA Branches at the end of his first week in office


St. Christopher and Nevis Opening of the NEW SESSION OF PARLIAMENT


CPA Secretary-General Elect joins Botswana MPs for virtual workshop on effective parliamentary oversight


Access Links to The CPA Masterclass Courses on Remote Working, from CPAHQ


Virtual Parliamentary Sittings during the COVID19 Pandemic for Presiding Officers and Clerks


Photo Gallery

Swearing-in of Anguilla Parliament

Reception Exodus Pan Yard (July 16, 2019) - Part 2

Reception Exodus Pan Yard (July 16, 2019) - Part 1

Plenary Session 5 - July 16, 2019

Plenary Session 4 - July 16, 2019

Plenary Session 3 - July 15, 2019

Plenary Session 2 - July 15, 2019

Opening Ceremony - July 15, 2019

Meeting of the Clerks of the Region - July 16, 2019

Dinner At Krave - July 15, 2019


CPA hosts two virtual panel discussions for Clerks and parliamentary staff to share best practice during the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) global pandemic


Featured Links


Parliament of Anguilla

Anguilla, the most northerly of the Leeward Islands in the Lesser Antilles is an internally self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Its political system is in the framework of a parliamentary representative democratic dependency, whereby the Chief Minister is the Head of Government and of a multi-party system.

Parliament of Antigua & Barbuda

The Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate is the Upper House with seventeen members appointed by the Governor-General, ten on the advice of the Prime Minister, four on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition, one on the advice of the Barbuda Council, one resident of Barbuda on the advice of the Prime Minister and one at the Governor-General’s discretion.

Parliament of Barbados

The Parliament of Barbados is the national legislature of Barbados. It is accorded legislative supremacy by Chapter V of the Constitution of Barbados. The Parliament is bicameral in composition and is formally made up of: Elizabeth II, Queen of Barbados, an appointed Senate, and an elected House of Assembly

Parliament of Belize

The National Assembly of Belize consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The 31 Members of the House of Representatives are elected to a maxium five-year term. The Senate consists of 12 Senators and the President of the Senate.

Parliament of Bermuda

Bermuda’s Parliament is 389 years old, the oldest in the Commonwealth outside the British Isles. The first elected Assembly was convened in St. Peter 's Church St. George's on 1 August 1620. In 1815, when the capital of the island was moved from St. George's to the city of Hamilton Parliament followed. Parliament moved to its current location at The Sessions House in 1826.

Parliament of British Virgin Islands

The House of Assembly has a unicameral system (i.e. made up of one chamber) and is relatively small compared to larger countries, which operate under a bicameral system consisting of an Upper and Lower Chamber.

Parliament of Cayman Islands

The Parliament of the Cayman Islands is a democracy that consists of a judicial, legislative and executive arm. Though there is evidence of more than 160 years of representative government, the constitution maintains that the Cayman Islands functions as a British dependency.

Parliament of Dominica

Dominica's parliament dates from the year 1763 when the British established a Legislative Assembly. This legislative assembly was however only representative of the white population. In 1831, the Brown Privilege Bill granted political and social rights to free coloureds. The following year, three blacks were elected to the legislative assembly.

Parliament of Grenada

Grenada's parliament convened in 1974, the same year that the island gained its independence and became a member of the commonwealth. The Parliament is made up of the Queen who is represented by the Governor General, the Senate and The House of Representatives.

Parliament of Guyana

The Parliament of Guyana is uni-cameral and consists of the President and the National Assembly. In accordance to article 65 of the Constitution, the Parliament of Guyana is empowered to make laws for the peace, order, and good governance of Guyana. This power is exercised by bills passed by the National Assembly and assented to by the President.

Parliament of Jamaica

The Parliament of Jamaica is the legislative branch of the government of Jamaica. It consists of three elements: the Crown, the appointed Senate and the directly elected House of Representatives. The Parliament meets at Gordon House at 81 Duke Street, Kingston. It was built in 1960 and named in memory of Jamaican patriot George William Gordon.

Parliament of Montserrat

Montserrat is a British Overseas territory governed by the British monarch who is represented by the Governor. The Governor has the responsibility of overseeing the island’s defense, internal security, external affairs, the public service and international and financial services.

Parliament of Republic of Trinidad & Tobago

The Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago, also known as the legislature, is the arm of state entrusted with the responsibility of making laws for good governance, and providing oversight of the Government or Executive. Trinidad and Tobago follows the Westminster System of government.

Parliament of St. Kitts & Nevis

St. Kitts was the first British Colony in the West Indies in 1623. The British and French colonialists fought over the possession of this island and in 1783 the Treaty of Versailles dictated that the island be overseen by the British. St. Kitts was united with Nevis and Anguilla from 1882 to 1980. In 1983 it became an independent federation within the British Commonwealth.

Parliament of St. Lucia

The Parliament of St. Lucia is bicameral parliament consisting of an appointed Senate (Upper House) and an elected House of Assembly (Lower House). The Senate has 11 members, while the House of Assembly has 19 members including the Speaker.

Parliament of St. Vincent and the Grenadines

The House of Assembly is a unicameral parliament made up of 15 elected members, one public officer and six senators appointed by the Governor-General. The Prime Minister is the leader of the majority party of the house and the cabinet conducts affairs of the state.

Parliament of The Bahamas

The Parliament of the Bahamas is bicameral (consisting of two chambers) with an appointed Senate and an elected House of Assembly. Her Majesty the Queen, represented by the Governor-General, is also part of the Bahamas Parliament. This Parliament follows the canons of the Westminster System.